History Students and Faculty Win Research Awards

January 22, 2014


The Department of History is delighted to announce that the following students have received Humanities Undergraduate Research Awards (HUGRA) for the 2013-2014 academic year:

Nicholas A. Garcia, History

“Using Slave Advertisements to Analyze the Intercolonial Slave Trade”

Mentor: Gregory O’Malley, Assistant Professor of History

Guy Herschmann, Jewish Studies

“Israel and Turkey: 1955-1967″

Mentor: Bruce Thompson, Lecturer in History

Tobias O. Rushing, History

“The ‘Pashtunistan Issue’; Problems of Nation Building in Cold War Afghanistan”

Mentor: Edmund Burke III, Professor Emeritus of History

Priscilla M. Sanchez, History

“More Power Than Leisure: Property, Businesses, and Self-Reliance Among Late Colonial Mexican Elite and Working Women, 1700-1821″

Mentor: Grace Peña Delgado, Assistant Professor of History

Sophie Short, Classical Studies

“Death and Marriage in the Greco-Roman World”
Mentor: Jennifer K. Lynn, Lecturer in Classical Studies

HUGRA awards support undergraduate research projects in the humanities. Up to 10 awards in the amount of $500 each are given each year. There are no constraints on the expenditure of the stipend. The top proposal receives the Bertha N. Melkonian prize, an additional $500. Any project involving research within or including any of the humanities disciplines is eligible for consideration.

Additionally, Assistant Professor of History Jennifer Derr has been named the 2014-2015 IHR Faculty Fellow:

Jennifer Derr, History
“A New Nile: The Construction of the Environment and the Practice of the State in Colonial Egypt”

Institute for Humanities Research (IHR) Fellowships provide faculty in the Humanities with one course replacement in order to pursue their research. Each fellowship recipient is also awarded $800 to be used for research expenses, which can include the hiring of a GSR, travel, and the purchase of computer equipment.

Please join in extending hearty congratulations to these students, their faculty advisers, and Professor Derr!